2014 Student Award Winners

On Saturday, October 18, 2014, at the 39th KATH Annual Meeting we celebrated Kentucky’s young scholars with the KATH Writing Awards.  Each of the winners received a monetary prize and certificate. These four juried KATH student writing awards are named after some of Kentucky’s great historians and history educators.

With the students’ permission, we proudly publish their photos and winning essays below (download their essays in .pdf files by clicking on the titles). This year’s prize winners are:

Anita Sanford Tolson High School Writing Award
No winners in 2014
Thomas D. Clark Undergraduate Student Writing Award (U.S. Topic)
Cody S. Barnett
“The Thought of the Smell of Black Powder Smoke: Violence in Kentucky Politics and the Clayhole Election Shootout”
Transylvania University, Lexington
Dr. Melissa McEuen, faculty sponsor

Honorable Mention
Todd Blevins
“Owingsville on Fire: The Second Great Awakening and the Birth of Small-Town Evangelism”
Morehead State University, Morehead
Dr. Alana Cain Scott, faculty sponsor

Cody Barnett

Cody Barnett

Todd Blevins

Todd Blevins

Raymond F. Betts Undergraduate Writing Award (non-Western topic)
Sona B. Apbasova
“Pan-Turkism of Republic of Turkey in post-Soviet Central Asian Republics in 1990s”
Berea College, Berea
Dr. Rebecca Bates, faculty sponsor

Sona Apbasova

Sona Apbasova

George C. Herring Graduate Student Writing Award
Amanda Boczar
“Uneasy Allies: The Americanization of Sexual Politics in South Vietnam”
University of Kentucky, Lexington
Dr. Lien-Hang Nguyen, faculty sponsor

Amanda Boczar

Amanda Boczar

Related Pages
2014 Annual Meeting
2013 Student Writing Award Winners
KATH Writing Awards


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: