2015 Student Award Winners

On Saturday, October 3, 2015, at the 40th KATH Annual Meeting we celebrated Kentucky’s young scholars with the KATH Writing Awards. Each of the winners received a monetary prize and certificate. These four juried KATH student writing awards are named after some of Kentucky’s great historians and history educators.

With the students’ permission, we proudly publish their photos and winning essays below (download their essays in .pdf files by clicking on the titles). This year’s prize winners are:

Anita Sanford Tolson High School Writing Award

Amir Abou-Jaoude

Richard Wagner and the Legacy of the Leitmotif
Henry Clay High School, Fayette County Public Schools, Lexington
Jonathan McClintock, teacher sponsor

Amir Abou-Jaoude

Amir Abou-Jaoude, Henry Clay High School

Thomas D. Clark Undergraduate Student Writing Award  (U.S. topic)

Mattie Bruton

Sallie Southall Cotten: Womanhood, Racial Purity, and Definingh ‘Progress’ in the New South
Transylvania University, Lexington
Dr. Melissa McEuen, faculty sponsor

Mattie Bruton, Transylvania University

Mattie Bruton, Transylvania University

Raymond F. Betts Undergraduate Writing Award  (non-Western topic)

Sarah Fox

Soviet Influence on the Music of Socialist Republics
Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green
Dr. Marc Eagle, faculty sponsor

Sarah Fox

Sarah Fox, Western Kentucky University

George C. Herring Graduate Student Writing Award

Mel Kapitan

Rebellion in Speech and Monks in Seclusion: Hildemar of Corbie’s Expositio regulam Sancti Benedicti and the Community of Monks in Ninth-Century Civate
University of Kentucky, Lexington
Dr. Gretchen Starr-LeBeau, faculty sponsor

Mel Kapitan

Mel Kapitan, University of Kentucky

Related Pages
2015 – KATH’s 40th – Annual Meeting
2014 Student Writing Award Winners
2013 Student Writing Award Winners
KATH Writing Awards


Comments Off on 2015 Student Award Winners

%d bloggers like this: