2017 Student Award Winners

On Saturday, October 28, 2017, at the 42nd KATH Annual Meeting we celebrate Kentucky’s young scholars with the KATH Writing Awards. Each of the winners receive a monetary prize and certificate. These juried KATH student writing awards are named after some of Kentucky’s great historians and history educators.

With the students’ permission, we proudly publish their winning essays below (download their essays in .pdf files by clicking on the titles). This year’s prize winners are:

Anita Sanford Tolson High School Writing Award
No award given this year.


Thomas D. Clark Undergraduate Student Writing Award (U.S. topic)

Jonathan Dean

He Hou Hawai’i: Polynesian Transformation in the Face of the West
Morehead State University, Morehead
Dr. Kris DuRocher, faculty sponsor

Raymond F. Betts Undergraduate Writing Award (non-Western topic)

Brittani Logsdon

The Portrayal of Women in U.S. Feminine Hygiene Advertisements from World War II through the 1950s
Murray State University, Murray
Dr. Marjorie Hilton, faculty sponsor

George C. Herring Graduate Student Writing Award

Hannah O’Daniel

Abstract for
‘It is Doubted Whether He is Entitled to the Protection of the Law’: Free Blacks in Early National Mercer County, Kentucky
University of Louisville, Louisville
Dr. Glenn Crothers, faculty sponsor

Related Pages

2017 KATH Annual Meeting
2016 Student Writing Award Winners
2015 Student Writing Award Winners
2014 Student Writing Award Winners
2013 Student Writing Award Winners
KATH Writing Awards


Comments Off on 2017 Student Award Winners

%d bloggers like this: