Posts Tagged ‘thomas d clark’


Clark Writing Award

In Alerts,KATH Awards on May 2, 2016 by Randolph Hollingsworth Tagged: , ,

This just in from Dr. Melissa A. McEuen, Chair of the Clark Writing Award Selection Committee:

I’ve put together the Clark Award announcement and attached it here (download .pdf file: KATH_2016ClarkAwardAnnouncement).  Would you please post or circulate it to the appropriate audiences?

Thank you!

Melissa A. McEuen
Professor of History and Bingham Professor
Transylvania University
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508



2015 KATH Writing Award Winners

Congratulations to all our 2015 KATH Writing Award winners!

Results are in from the George C. Herring Graduate Student Writing Award committee chair, Dr. Melanie Goan. The winner is:

Mel Kapitan, University of Kentucky
for her research paper
“Rebellion in Speech and Monks in Seclusion:
Hildemar of Corbie’s Expositio regulam Sancti Benedicti
and the Community of Monks in Ninth-Century Civate”
Sponsored by University of Kentucky History professor, Dr. Gretchen Starr-LeBeau

According to the KATH Betts Award committee chair Dr. Randolph Hollingsworth, the judges for the Raymond F. Betts Undergraduate Student Writing Award have selected the winner to be:

Sarah Fox, Western Kentucky University
for her research paper
“Soviet Influence on the Music of Socialist Republics”
Sponsored by Western Kentucky University History professor, Dr. Marc Eagle

And the winner of the Thomas D. Clark Undergraduate Student Writing Award is:

Mattie Bruton, Transylvania University
for her research paper
“Sallie Southall Cotten: Womanhood, Racial Purity, and Defining ‘Progress’ in the New South”
Sponsored by Transylvania University History professor, Dr. Melissa McEuen

From Cheryl Caskey, the committee chair for the Anita Sanford Tolson Student Writing Award for high school students, the winner is:

Amir Abou-Jaoude, Henry Clay High School, Fayette County Public Schools
for his research paper
“Richard Wagner and the Legacy of the Leitmotif”
Sponsored by Henry Clay High School social studies teacher, Jonathan McClintock

Please join the 2015 KATH Board in celebrating these students and their faculty sponsors at the 40th Annual Meeting on Saturday, October 3rd in Owensboro. Register to attend now – using our secure online payment process. Download the KATH conference brochure here (.pdf file).

Posted September 29, 2015 by Randolph Hollingsworth


CFP: Student Writing Awards

The Kentucky Association of Teachers of History calls for submissions for the KATH Student Writing Awards 2015.

KATH sponsors four writing awards for students each year – two of which are specifically for undergraduates and one for graduate students attending Kentucky postsecondary institutions. The high school award submissions are typically gathered from those sent in for the National History Day competition at the statewide level (see also the KATH post about the Kentucky winners at the national level). The chair for this award committee is Cheryl Caskey, Kentucky Historical Society.

KATH is currently seeking papers written by postsecondary students during the 2014-15 academic year and sponsored by their faculty. The entries will be reviewed by a panel of historians invited by the KATH Board to serve as judges. The winners will be honored with a cash prize and certificate at the annual KATH meeting on October 3rd at Owensboro Community & Technical College.

Please consider inviting your faculty to sponsor their students’ work in history research.

  • Thomas D. Clark Undergraduate Student Writing Award for the student who has written an outstanding undergraduate research paper in U.S. history while attending a Kentucky college or university (must not exceed 25 pages).
  • Raymond F. Betts Undergraduate Student Writing Award for the outstanding undergraduate research paper on a world history topic (from any time period) – the paper can consider American issues and material if the bulk of the paper has a world focus (minimum of 2500 words).
  • George C. Herring Graduate Student Writing Award for the best graduate research paper on any topic (should be journal article length).

For specific details on the requirements for each award, please download the flyers (here and here) and refer others to the KATH webpage: Please have your faculty send students’ entries for the Clark and Betts awards to Randolph Hollingsworth ( and the Herring award to Melanie Goan ( before midnight, September 11th.

Posted August 6, 2015 by Randolph Hollingsworth


2012 Clark Award

In KATH Awards on June 21, 2012 by Randolph Hollingsworth Tagged: , , , , , ,

Kentucky Association of Teachers of History

2012 Thomas D. Clark Writing Award

KATH is pleased to announce its competition for the best undergraduate research paper on a United States topic completed during the 2011-12 academic year at a Kentucky college or university. The winner will receive a $100 prize. The award will be presented at the 2012 KATH Conference, to be held at duPont Manual High School in Louisville on Saturday, September 15.

Competition Guidelines

  1. A student may not submit more than one paper for the Clark Writing Award.
  2. The manuscript (excluding endnotes, appendices, and bibliography) is limited to twenty-five (25) typed, double-spaced pages. It should conform to the rules of The Chicago Manual of Style regarding endnotes, bibliography, and other stylistic matters.
  3. All personal identification information should be removed from the document itself (e.g., writer’s name or university in page numbers, endnotes, title page or first page). The student’s paper title, university, permanent address and current contact information should appear only in the body of the email message to which the paper is attached.
  4. The paper should be submitted as an email attachment in one of the following formats (.doc, .docx, or .pdf) to Professor Melissa A. McEuen, Transylvania University,, on or before the deadline: Midnight, Friday, August 3, 2012.
  5. The submission must be accompanied by an email message from the student’s supervising history instructor (or the department chair), recommending the paper and certifying that it was written for an undergraduate course and completed in the 2011-12 academic year.

Please direct any questions to Melissa A. McEuen at

Download a flyer here and post it in your department today!

See also the 2012 Betts Writing Award notice.

%d bloggers like this: